Small Goals

I have always been an all-or-nothing type of person. Sadly, I usually end up on the “nothing” side of things. As much as this goes against every fibre of my being, this week I am trying to take things slow! Obviously my past approaches haven’t worked very well so I will have to tackle my goals slowly. This week I was planning on going to the gym a few times but the weather has other plans for me. It is so so so cold here!!! I can barely stand looking outside, let alone stepping foot out there! So I’m staying bundled up inside 🙂

Since that goal isn’t working out this week (ha ha! Puns, aren’t they great?), I have moved onto my next one. I actually almost fulfilled it today too! I’m trying to stay within my calorie goal. Typically I eat 2500 calories of junk and that is just horrible and unacceptable! So today I ate a nice healthy breakfast (eggs), made sure to have good snacks in between meals (nuts), and ate a semi-okay dinner (homemade fettuccine Alfredo – portion controlled; hey at least it’s not McDonald’s!). I actually found it difficult to not under-eat! When you take out all the juices and chocolates, it really cuts things down. I drank a lot more water today too so I feel very…clean? Haha refreshed I guess is a better word.

I did go over my calorie goal by about 200 at the end of the night because I gave in to a few chips and chocolates (I have GOT to get them out of the house!). I’m still optimistic about the rest of the week though! Today I realized that I am strong enough to do this. I did give in to those evil little snacks but not because I was lacking in my meals throughout the day. That has always worried me, whether I would be satisfied with healthier foods. I was happy today though! I’ve written out a meal plan that is nutritional and filling and I have everything I need in the house alhamdulilah. So I’d like to stick to that this week Insha’Allah :).

I know calorie counting isn’t always the greatest thing to do but it really helps me stay on track. And by tracking the numbers, I also make sure they are coming from good sources. I’m not obsessive about it but I do find it an important part of getting healthier.

Although I’m supposed to be doing one change at a time, this week I’m also giving up soda, namely Coke. I never feel good after having it so it’s not worth it anymore. It’s only been two days without it but it’s better than what I used to be like. If it were up to my old self, I’d be drinking it with meals, between meals, and as meals.

If the weather stays the same next week, I will clean off my treadmill and get my heart rate going at home! There’s tons of exercises I can do here so I will have to make that my goal for next week.

Wish me luck guys and stay tuned! I hope I can stick with it.